Yes, your child can delete the uKnowKids mobile application (known as uKnowMobile) on the mobile phone. uKnowKids is not intended to be used as “spyware”.

Why do we allow a child to view the mobile app?

We allow those being monitored to delete the mobile application from their phone to ensure the safety and privacy of the monitored party. Allowing someone to monitor a child using a “hidden” application could expose a child to being monitored by anyone that could gain access to their phone including school bullies, an estranged parent, a child predator or another person that might try to cause them harm. It could also expose an adult to being “monitored” by another adult without their knowledge.

How do I keep my child from deleting the uKnowMobile app off of their iPhone, iPad, or iPod?

To activate this feature, go to the Settings app on your child's device's home screen and tap "General." Then, scroll down and tap "Restrictions," followed by "Enable Restrictions." At this point, please create a four digit passcode and enter it again when prompted, then toggle "Deleting Apps" to OFF. By following these steps, your child will not be able to delete the uKnowMobile app from their Apple device.

But what if my child deletes the mobile app?

In the event that the mobile phone appears “inactive” in our system for more than 24 hours, you will be notified by email. This ensures that if your child does delete the application, you can take the appropriate steps to re-install and re-activate the mobile application. You can also have the appropriate conversation with your child about your expectations for their behavior.

Did this answer your question?